Sausage Potato Pizza

I love pizza! I love all types and I will eat most all toppings. EXCEPT mushrooms and olives. Ugh! I cannot stomach them. If I don’t know they are on a pizza, I can eat them, but I have to be unaware. J

When I put this recipe together, my husband was more than a little skeptical. He couldn’t figure out how putting sausage, potatoes, and spinach on a pizza, with no pizza sauce, could be any good. I had a hard time talking him into it. But once I did, he was so pleasantly surprised that he finished the entire pizza the next day for lunch. I loved it as well. I loved throwing something together that made us all happy. The pizza was a mix of surprising and expected. Sausage and potato together is an amazing flavor combination. I love it in quiche as well. The sausage is salty and spicy, with the starchiness of the potato keeping it from being too spicy! I threw some spinach in there just to add another pop of color, and sneak in another vegetable that usually wouldn’t make it to a pizza in our house. The béchamel sauce I used in the place of regular tomato based pizza sauce really took it over the top. It was cheesy and creamy.

This pizza is really good and a little off the charts on flavor combos. I highly recommend you try it.

Sausage Potato Pizza

  • 1 recipe Basic Pizza Dough
  • 2 smoked sausage links, sliced about ¼” thick, I used something with chipotle peppers and pepper jack cheese
  • 4 or 5 small potatoes, sliced thin
  • 1 cup frozen spinach, thawed
  • Béchamel sauce, recipe follows
  • 2 cups mozzarella cheese

In a large sauté pan, cook the sausage and potatoes until the potatoes are cooked and the sausage is warmed through. Add the spinach. Heat through then set aside.

Preheat the oven to 350°F.

Béchamel Sauce

  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • ½ cup flour
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 cups mozzarella cheese
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 tablespoons grated onion

Melt the butter, with garlic, in a medium saucepan over medium high heat. Add the flour and cook until the mixture is a golden brown. Whisk in the milk slowly until completely incorporated. Let the flour mixture cook until thickened then add the mozzarella, salt and pepper, and grated onion. Let cool this mixture cool slightly.

Assemble the pizza: Pat the dough out into desired shape or pan. Spread the béchamel sauce over the dough. Sprinkle half of the shredded cheese over the béchamel sauce and then add the potato/sausage mixture. Sprinkle the remaining 1 cup of cheese over the toppings.

Bake the pizza in a preheated oven for about 30 minutes or until the cheese is bubbly and golden.

2 thoughts on “Sausage Potato Pizza

Leave a Reply

