Basic Pizza Dough

Some people love it, some people hate it…. The yeasty smell of bread dough rising. I am a lover of said smell. I love the warmth I start to feel when I know I am about to have fresh bread. No matter how I am about to consume it, the knowing and anticipation of that hot dough is almost too much for me to handle. Yum.

Basic pizza dough can be the building block of many delicious recipes. Sweet, savory, or both, it can be used to make a beautiful pizzas, flat breads, rolls, even cinnamon rolls. This basic dough is something you want to keep in your recipe stash and you will want to use it often.

This can be made by hand, mixer, or food processor. I prefer using my mixer, that way I don’t have to have gunk on my hands and under my nails. But, it is nice to know how to feel when the dough is ready and when it needs a little more something, whether it be kneading, water, or flour. That is information you can use no matter what type of bread you are making!

Basic Pizza Dough

  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon yeast
  • 1 ¼ cup very warm water
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 ½ teaspoons salt
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil

In a mixer, mix together the flour, 1 teaspoon sugar, and salt. Set the flour mixture aside. Mix the yeast, 1 teaspoon sugar, and warm water in a 2 cup glass measuring cup. Let the yeast bloom about 10 minutes, it will be very bubbly and foamy on the top, and then add it to the flour mixture with the oil. Mix in the mixer with the dough hook until it looks smooth. You can also do this by hand, kneading about 8-10 minutes, or until the dough feels elastic-y. Set aside in a greased bowl and let rise about an hour or until the dough has doubled in size. Punch down the dough and spread into the prepared pan. Use as your recipe calls you to do.

This dough can be used for sweet or savory dishes. Any pizza recipe you find, this can be used as the dough! You can also use it as a flat bread dough, use it for focaccia. I love a caramelized onion focaccia using this dough. It really is fantastic.

6 thoughts on “Basic Pizza Dough

    • It depends on your recipe. If you look at my recipe for buffalo chicken pizza or sausage potato pizza, there you’ll find what I bake it at and for how long.

Leave a Reply

