Palmiers

Hey y’all!

I have been so busy lately that I can hardly keep my head on straight. Doctor’s appointments, just check-ups (don’t get excited), work, home, work some more, and sleep, it is a never-ending cycle! One weekend I just want to sleep until I wake up on my own, not by a wiener needing to go outside or an alarm clock shouting at me. I just want a relaxing weekend with no one telling me what to do. I am getting more responsibility at work this week. I start actually doing calls. AHHH! I am more than nervous about that. I know I can do it. I know I love this job so I HAVE to do it. I cannot think of a cooler group of people to work with either. An amazing group of people have welcomed me with open arms and I am so happy about that. I love it.

Anyway, I have not been baking a whole lot since starting work, and that kills me. The other day I opened my refrigerator and saw some puff pastry I needed to use so I decided to throw some palmiers together. They are so easy and delicious. Kids love them as well as adults. It’s a win-win. You can mix up the spices used and make a savory version as well. Maybe I will post the savory version soon. J

Palmiers

  • 1 sheet of thawed Puff Pastry
  • Flour
  • 1 stick melted butter
  • ½ cup sugar mixed with 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • ¼ cup sugar

Preheat the oven to 350°F.

On a lightly floured surface, roll the puff pastry out to a 12-inch square. Brush the entire surface of the dough with melted butter and sprinkle liberally with the cinnamon sugar.

Starting at the far end, roll the dough towards the middle. When you get to the middle of the dough, do the same thing with the edge closest to you so it looks like 2 rolls of dough. Using a sharp knife, cut the dough into ¾ inch pieces, and lay, cut side down, on a lined baking sheet, then brush the dough with the leftover melted butter.

Bake the palmiers about 15-20 minutes, or until the dough is golden brown. Remove from the oven and let cool completely!

These are fab with a hot cup of coffee or tea. These would be fabulous as a choice if you were doing an afternoon tea, which I know most people don’t do, but the idea is fun.

2 thoughts on “Palmiers

Leave a Reply

